Characteristics of the New Testament

There are pages in your Bible that read the Old Testament and the New Testament.

Is this where they started? Most of Christendom believes this is where they started.

The page with the New Testament appears before MML & J.

But it was never in the original versions it was added by a publisher along with the red letters.

To get clarification on this we need to search the Scriptures.

First, it was prophetic and can be found in the O.T.

We will be using Jeremiah 31:31-34 (KJV always) mostly for this blog.

Behold, the days come, saith the LORD, that I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel, and with the house of Judah:

Not only does it state that it is a future event, but that it will be for Israel and Judah.

Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt; which my covenant they brake, although I was an husband unto them, saith the LORD:

 This covenant is something new not according to the one that was in place at that time. We also see that it was made with their fathers (Israel) and they broke it, which is typical throughout their history.

But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days (which days), saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people.

 Those days are after the old covenant is over. He said HE WILL put his LAW in their inward parts and in their hearts which sounds a lot like Pentecost to me. This is where Peter received his boldness from the Gift of the Holy Spirit.

They shall be my people. What people? Nothing has changed God is still dealing with Israel. There are no Gentiles referred to in any of these passages.

This covenant, according to Hebrews couldn’t have been until the death of the testator at the earliest.

For where a testament is, there must also of necessity be the death of the testator.
For a testament is of force after men are dead: otherwise it is of no strength at all while the testator liveth.

Hebrews 9:16-17

 

Jeremiah goes on to say, which to me is very interesting, for they shall all know me.

You might want to ask the question is this going on today?

And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD; for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.

 It’s amazing how Scripture will define and confirm itself.

For we read the writer of Hebrews in the New Testament quoting Jeremiah and also saying this is a far better promise.

First, we must address who Hebrews is written to.

God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets,

Hebrews 1:1

We see again that there are no Gentiles mentioned. The fathers were that of Israel.

But now hath he obtained a more excellent ministry, by how much also he is the mediator of a better covenant, which was established upon better promises.
For if that first covenant had been faultless, then should no place have been sought for the second.
For finding fault with them, he saith, Behold, the days come, saith the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah:
Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day when I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt; because they continued not in my covenant, and I regarded them not, saith the Lord.
For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people:
And they shall not teach every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the Lord: for all shall know me, from the least to the greatest.

Hebrews 8:6-11

Christ became a mediator of a better covenant after His resurrection, but it still pertains to Israel.

I’m sure you can spiritualize this or use some other version of the Bible that will put Gentiles into the picture, but then you would be changing the Word of God to fit your belief system.

If you read the Bible literally, you will have a better understanding of who is writing, who it’s written to and if you are in the audience.

To see Souls saved and Saints edified!

Leave a comment